National Cultural and Art Awards Winners Announced


2017 12 11


Winners the National Culture and Arts Prize 2017 were announced at the Ministry of Culture. The solemn ceremony was attended by the Minister of Culture Liana Ruokytė-Jonsson.

The National Culture and Art Prizes were awarded to the following artists: actress Eglė Gabrėnaitė - for the brightness of her stage character and professional maximalism, composer Justė Janulytė – for musical actualization of visual metaphors, writer Danutė Kalinauskaitė – for the richness of artistic language forms, scenographer Gintaras Makarevičius – for the creative contemporary of the scenery, visual art creators Svajonė and Paulius Stanikas – for the aesthetic provocativeness of artistic creation and photographer Gintautas Trimakas – for contemporarization of photographic sources.

“This is the highest award for our creators, which we would like to give to all high-level artists we have so many in Lithuania. Congratulations to the winners and I think that everyone who has been nominated for this prize is the winner because they are the treasures of our culture and art. I am glad that there are a lot of female creators among the winners this year" said the Minister of Culture.

“The time has come when women are becoming more and more visible in the field of culture and art. Creative women mark a kind of a milestone, a breakthrough that we will surely remember, "said the chairman of the National Culture and Art Prize Commission, literary critic Viktorija Daujotytė-Pakerienė.

This year 41 cultural and artistic creators were nominated for the national prizes. Last week, the National Culture and Art Prize Commission selected twelve candidates.

The National Culture and Art Prize Commission is led by the literary critic Viktorija Daujotytė-Pakerienė, members of the commission are: composer and conductor Vaclovas Augustinas, architect Audrius Ambrasas, theatre and film actor Juozas Budraitis, musicologist Jūratė Katinaitė, theatre critic Ramunė Marcinkevičiūtė, philosopher Nerijus Milerius, sculptor and film maker Deimantas Virgilijus Narkevičius, literary critic Jūratė Sprindytė, film director Audrius Stonys ir art critic Jūratė Tutlytė.

Lithuanian National Culture and Art Prizes are awarded annually since 1989, for the most significant works created by Lithuanian and world Lithuanian community artists over the past 7 years and life’s contribution to culture and art.
The prizes are awarded annually and they amount to 30,400 euros. Diplomas and signs of the Lithuanian National Culture and Art Prize winners will be presented on the occasion of the Day of Restoration of the State of Lithuania.