Asia-Europe cooperation: ASEM and ASEF

The Asia-Europe Meeting (ASEM) is an intergovernmental process established in 1996 to foster dialogue and cooperation between Asia and Europe. Presently it comprises 53 Partners: 30 European and 21 Asian countries, the European Union and the ASEAN Secretariat. ASEM addresses political, economic, financial, social, cultural, and educational issues of common interest in a spirit of mutual respect and equal partnership.

The ASEM Summit is a biennial meeting between the Heads of State and Government, the President of the European Council, the President of the European Commission, and the Secretary-General of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN).

Lithuania joined ASEM in 2004.

Established by the governments of the ASEM member states, The Asia-Europe Foundation (ASEF) promotes greater mutual understanding between Asia and Europe through intellectual, cultural and people-to-people exchanges. ASEF is funded by voluntary contributions from its partner governments and shares the financing of its projects with its civil society partners across Asia and Europe. In the field of culture ASEF promotes cultural relations based on fair exchange and reciprocity. ASEF’s work in culture connects artists, cultural professionals, non-profit arts organisations, networks & museums in the 51 countries that are part of the Asia-Europe Meeting (ASEM)

Last updated: 17-03-2021